List of Guides: African American History and Rights: Audiovisual Holdings

MOST COMMONLY USED MATERIALS

Here, we've highlighted photographic, sound, and moving image materials at the JFK Library—starting with the most popular—that support research on African American history and civil rights during the Kennedy presidency. Note: not all materials are listed online; please contact JFK.AVarchives@nara.gov for more information.

President's Office Files: Presidential Recordings
A subset of the President's Office Files. These are secretly recorded meetings and phone conversations, as well as Presidential monologues, primarily from 29 July 1962 - 20 November 1963. Some recordings are downloadable; right-click the text, "download audio (mp3)" and save the link to your computer.
more...less...
Significant African American Civil Rights discussions occur throughout the collection.
Television Network CBS Collection
CBS Television Network coverage documenting John F. Kennedy, his Administration, his family, and national and world events. Includes spot news; news conferences; news magazine programs; presidential trips, speeches, and interviews; and other coverage of official and non-official activities.
more...less...
Full Civil Rights speech to the nation; extensive coverage of the March on Washington; coverage of the integration of the University of Mississippi; coverage of Civil Rights meetings;
United States Government Agencies Film Collection
Motion picture films and other audiovisual materials created or commissioned by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government: the United States Information Agency/Service; Departments of Defense, Army, Air Force, Labor, Commerce; and others. To see film descriptions, click "expand all" underneath "Container List."
more...less...
Specifically, see "The Five Cities of June" (USG-01-15) and "Years of Lightning, Day of Drums" (USG-01-23).
Universal Newsreel Media Gallery
Universal Newsreels from 1958-1963 covering a variety of events related to John F. Kennedy. Universal Newsreels are in the public domain.
more...less...
Gallery is grouped chronologically--see newsreels from 9/30/62, 6/11/63, 8/28/1963.
White House Photographs - African American History and Rights
This link points to the images in the White House Photo Collection that pertain to African American History and Rights.

ADDITIONAL MATERIALS

Independent Film Producers Collection
Motion picture films and video (1932-1998) created by American news and video producers or independent production companies. Films document President Kennedy and his family; political figures; and contemporary events/movements. To see film descriptions, click "expand all" underneath "Container List."
more...less...
See specifically, "Civil Rights Spots for President Kennedy" (IFP-013), "Oxford, USA" (IFP-076), and "Coffee with Kennedy" (IFP-138). Additionally, a few 1960 campaign spots from IFP:135 address Civil Rights, some featuring Harry Belafonte.
Miscellaneous Recordings
Sound recordings donated to the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library by a variety of sources, on a wide range of topics. c. 1910-present.
more...less...
MR 2002-28, forty-one audiocassettes, interviews conducted by Gordon Martin as part of a self-initiated study of the Civil Rights movement, begun in the late 1980's; MR 2006-03, recording of remarks of General Edwin A. Walker in Oxford, Mississippi, 01 October 1962, recorded by R. D. “Bob” McGregor of WRBC Radio, Oxford/Jackson.
President's Collection Photographs
Photographs of John F. Kennedy; his family, friends, and colleagues; and his political activities. Contains photographs of Kennedy's early years, family homes, naval service during World War II, and political activities. The largest segments cover Kennedy's Senate years (1953-1960) and 1960 presidential campaign.
more...less...
Collection contains some pre-presidential images of John F. Kennedy meeting with African American leaders.
Television Network NBC Collection
NBC Television Network coverage documenting John F. Kennedy, his family, his presidential administration, and national and world events. Includes spot news; news conferences; news magazine programs; presidential trips, speeches, and interviews; and more. All rights retained by NBC; reproductions by permission only.
more...less...
Some March on Washington coverage and other Civil Rights meeting coverage.
White House Audio: African American History and Rights
This link points to White House Communications Agency recordings of President Kennedy's speeches and other public remarks, specifically concerning African American Civil Rights. Recordings are downloadable; right-click the text of "download audio (mp3)" and save the link to your computer.