By James D. Brasch and Joseph Sigman. An inventory of the books Ernest Hemingway is known to have owned as part of his personal library. Electronic edition, 2000. (Originally published New York and London by Garland Pub., 1981.)
Documents Sidney Franklin’s bullfighting career and relationships with Spanish and Latin American matadors, including Cayetano Ordonez, the inspiration for the matador in Hemingway's The Sun Also Rises.
Contains three separate Ernest Hemingway manuscript collections: "Hemingway mss., 1931" contains writings and correspondence; "Hemingway mss. II, 1927-1956" contains photographs of Hemingway and others; "Hemingway mss. III, 1895-1934" contains letters from Ernest and Pauline Pfeiffer Hemingway to the Hemingway family.
Papers resulting from the friendship of Ernest Hemingway and A.E. Hotchner, including letters from Hemingway to Hotchner, literary writings by Hemingway, a draft of Hotchner's memoir, and related material.
The library has acquired Ernest Hemingway-related material, including first editions, correspondence, and high school essays, as well as multiple collections related to the Hemingway family and the Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park.
Consists of working papers and biographical files about Ernest Hemingway compiled by Carlos Baker in preparation of his biography Ernest Hemingway: A Life Story, including copies of correspondence between Hemingway and friends, publishers, and family.
Consists primarily of photographs covering Patrick Hemingway, Ernest , various scenes, and images of outdoor sports and leisure time with family and friends. Also contains a selection of Hemingway family correspondence.
Contains correspondence, manuscripts and documents. Major correspondents include Carlos Baker, Louis Bromfield, Caresse Crosby, Edgar Calmer, Eric Edward "Chink" Dorman-Smith, Joseph M. Hopkins, Al Horwits, Howell G. Jenkins, Prudencio de Pereda, William M. Rakow, and Herbert Ruhm.
Consists of selected periodicals containing contributions by Ernest Hemingway or mention of Hemingway or his work; lobby cards, film posters, and other theatrical and film ephemera relating to versions of Hemingway's work; and other miscellaneous or ephemeral materials.
Contains typescript and carbon typescript drafts of six of Ernest Hemingway's literary works: "A Clean Well Lighted Place," "Fathers and Sons," The Fifth Column, "God Rest You Merry Gentlemen," "Green Hills of Africa", and "The Snows of Kilimanjaro."
Collection comprises holograph and typescript works, including Death in the Afternoon, A Farewell to Arms, "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," Big Two-Hearted River, The Old Man and the Sea, and Across the River and Into the Trees; correspondence of family and friends; and works by associates.