List of Guides: John F. Kennedy: 11/1963 Texas Trip, Assassination, and Reactions: Textual Holdings

MOST COMMONLY USED MATERIALS

Here, we've highlighted archival collections and holdings at the JFK Library—starting with the most popular—that support research on John F. Kennedy's November 1963 trip to Texas, his death and memorial services, and their impact.

Please note that the central repository for JFK Assassination-related materials is the National Archives at College Park, as mandated by the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992.

Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis Personal Papers
Textual and audiovisual materials that document the First Lady's early life, family, and marriage; her role in the White House (trips, state visits, White House restoration, social events, personal occasions, family events, and more); and her interests and concerns following her White House years. Digitized in part.
more...less...
Boxes: SF54-63, SF68-69, CM01-CM44
John F. Kennedy Condolence Mail
Contains condolence books, correspondence, musical scores, clippings, poetry, scrapbooks, and yearbooks reflecting the reaction to John F. Kennedy's death. (Sample selected for retention from the original 1,570 feet.)
Note: this collection is currently undergoing preservation. Contact reference staff for information about accessing the material.
President's Office Files
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of President Kennedy as maintained by his personal secretary, Evelyn Lincoln, in the Oval Office of the White House (1961-1963). Digitized in full.
more...less...
Series 3: Speech Files; Series 8: Subjects (Trips folders)
Theodore H. White Personal Papers
Journalist, Correspondent, Author: The Making of the President, 1960. Contains book manuscripts, background materials, notes, convention and campaign reports and memorabilia; and interviews with Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy and Richard M. Nixon. "Camelot" documents are digitized in part.
more...less...
Series 11: Camelot Documents
White House Central Subject Files
The main correspondence file for the Kennedy administration; contains letters from the general public, as well as internal staff memoranda. Digitized in part.
more...less...
Box: 990 (Texas trip)

ADDITIONAL MATERIALS

Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Personal Papers
Papers 1939-1969. Historian, government official, Special Assistant to the President for Latin American Affairs (1961-63); author, A Thousand Days (1965). Correspondence, reports, speeches, subject files, news clippings, research materials, book drafts, writings, diaries, White House files.
more...less...
Boxes: P02, P03, P05, W10
Carl Gray Collection
Photographs and textual material. Transparencies created and acquired by Carl Gray, Second Officer of Pan-American World Airlines press charter flight accompanying President Kennedy's trip to Texas 21-22 November 1963; hand-written reporter's notes written on the back of White House press releases.
Charles E. Stanton Personal Papers
Responses to a questionnaire Stanton sent to prominent people asking whether they believed the findings of the Warren Commission.
Charles J. Stewart Personal Papers
Consist of 850 sermons delivered following the death of President Kennedy, collected by Stewart in his role as editor of the book A Man Named John F. Kennedy: Sermons on His Assassination (1964).
Columbia University Bureau of Applied Social Research Records
Research materials consisting of transcripts of interviews with network news personnel used in preparation of Ruth Leeds Love's dissertation Television and the Death of a President (1969).
David Armstrong Personal Papers
Contains materials used for Armstrong’s dissertation, The True Believer: Walt Whitman Rostow and the Path to Vietnam, including papers from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library on the Vietnam War, as well as correspondence from the LBJ Library, the JFK Library, and the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) David Armstrong concerning requested documents from the libraries.
David Powers Personal Papers
Covers 1945-1979, with the core spanning 1946-1963 and documenting Powers's role as a friend, campaign worker, and staff member of John F. Kennedy, and later the Curator of the JFK Library Museum.
more...less...
Boxes: 15, AU07
Gerald 'Jerry' Bruno Personal Papers
Documents Bruno's role as a political "advance man" planning for trips and speaking engagements for both John F. Kennedy and Robert F. Kennedy.
Kenneth Munden Personal Papers
Archivist and Chief of Special Projects, National Archives; author, Be it Resolved: American State Documents Occasioned by the Death of John Fitzgerald Kennedy (1967-1968). Contains research materials and an unpublished manuscript.
National Security Files
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of McGeorge Bundy, Special Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs. It is the primary foreign policy file of the Kennedy White House (1961-1963). Digitized in part.
more...less...
Boxes: 430
Robert F. Kennedy Papers: Attorney General Papers
Includes correspondence, desk diaries, speeches, trip files, and other material documenting Robert F. Kennedy's role as Attorney General (1961-1964). Digitized in part.
more...less...
BOxes: 77, 128-145
Robert Warren Ross Personal Papers
Contains research materials and a manuscript draft for the proposed book A Sports Tribute to JFK, a compilation of articles written by sports columnists about the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.
Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Personal Papers
Document Rose Kennedy's experiences from her youth until her death, with emphasis on her travels and education; corresponding with friends, family, and the public; work in the mental health field; involvement in politics and charitable causes; various writings; and the restoration of John F. Kennedy's birthplace.
White House Staff Files of Godfrey McHugh
Air Force Aide to President John F. Kennedy (1961-1963). Contains Correspondence, memorandums, reports, passenger lists, flight schedules, and itineraries for Presidential trips.

ORAL HISTORY INTERVIEWS

JFK Oral History Collection
This link displays a list of relevant oral histories in the library's John F. Kennedy Oral History Collection. Digitized in part.
RFK Oral History Collection
This link displays a list of relevant oral histories in the library's Robert F. Kennedy Oral History Collection. Digitized in part.