It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Director of Training for the Far East (1962-1964) and Special Assistant to the Director (1964-1965) of Peace Corps. Contains research materials for his doctoral dissertation and documents the concept, organization and evolution of the Peace Corps.
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of President Kennedy as maintained by his personal secretary, Evelyn Lincoln, in the Oval Office of the White House (1961-1963). Digitized in full.
Social psychologist, economist, consultant to the Peace Corps (1960-1962). Contains correspondence, news clippings, and working files relating to Peace Corps organization and training and reflects Hayes's responsibility for preparing a pamphlet considering the feasibility of an international Peace Corps for the 1960 Kennedy Presidential campaign.
Microfilm copies of Director's staff meeting reports, press releases, weekly reports to the President, volunteer information reports, and publications. Hard copy consists of publications, reports, country studies, training manuals etc.
Documents Bellino's position as special consultant to President Kennedy, investigating Peace Corps activities and the stockpiling of materials for a national emergency. The papers consist of articles, audit reports, budget data, correspondence and memoranda accumulated during these investigations.
Government official. Director of Public Information, Peace Corps (1961); Special Assistant, Office of the White House Press Secretary (1961); Director, Information Staff, Agency for International Development (1961-63). Photocopies of correspondence, memorandums, speech files relating to the White House press office, the Peace Corps, AID, and Wisconsin political affairs.
Documenting Jones's experience as a Peace Corps volunteer (1963-65); campaign worker in the 1968 Robert F. Kennedy Presidential Campaign; press secretary for the George McGovern Presidential Campaign (1971-72); and as the interviewer of Fidel Castro with Frank Mankiewicz.
Documents Butler's roles as Peace Corps Country Director for Malaysia (1963-64) and Peace Corps consultant (1961-68). Includes interview notes and related materials for evaluating early Peace Corps efforts in Somalia, Nigeria and Nepal, including program evaluations, reports, and volunteer newletters.
Details Smith's role as a member of the programming team for Micronesia’s first Peace Corps program (1966), as well as her experiences in Ecuador, Micronesia, and the Dominican Republic with her husband John Guy Smith, Peace Corps Program Country Director.
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of McGeorge Bundy, Special Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs. It is the primary foreign policy file of the Kennedy White House (1961-1963). Digitized in part.
Lawyer. Assistant Special Counsel to the President (1961); Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs (1961-62); Director, International Peace Corps Secretariat (1962-64). Memorandums, reports, and correspondence.
Contains material related to Sorensen's role on John F. Kennedy's Senate staff (1952-60) and as speechwriter and Special Counsel to the President (1961-64); includes correspondence, legislative files, subject files, speech files, draft book manuscripts, personal papers and White House files.
Still photographs by White House and National Park Service staff photographers documenting the President's activities, trips, and other events; informal photographs of the President and his family; photographs of Administration and Congressional members; photographs of White House staff and visitors; and photographs of White House rooms and grounds. Digitized in part.
Covering Wofford's roles as assistant to then-Senator John F. Kennedy and Special Assistant to the President for Civil Rights from 1961-1962, the collection holds correspondence, speeches, and occasional background material on civil rights cases. Digitized in full.
Covers Byrd's tenure as director of the Peace Corps outdoor fitness training programs in Puerto Rico from 1962 to 1963. Contains textual materials, photographic prints, negatives, and slides. Digitized in part.