It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journalist, author, educator. War crimes research analyst (1946-1948); professor of international relations, Howard University (1956-1967); author Street Without Joy (1961), The Two Viet-nams (1963), Hell in a Very Small Place: The Siege of Dien Bien Phu (1966). Research materials, books, clippings, magazines, maps, writings, relating to Southeast Asia, China, Germany, and Vietnam.
Diplomat, government official, educator. Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs (1961-1965); United States ambassador to NATO (1965-1969); author. Correspondence, appointment books, articles, drafts, meeting minutes, memoranda, press releases, reports, speeches, and telegrams.
Documents Thomson's career as Special Assistant to the Under Secretary of State (1961); Special Assistant to the President's Special Representative for Africa, Asia, and Latin America (1961-1963); Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of State for Far Eastern Affairs (1963-1964); and member of the National Security Council staff (1964-1966), with particular focus on Asian affairs.
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of McGeorge Bundy, Special Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs. It is the primary foreign policy file of the Kennedy White House (1961-1963). Digitized in part.
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of President Kennedy as maintained by his personal secretary, Evelyn Lincoln, in the Oval Office of the White House (1961-1963). Digitized in full.
Consists of a single series containing the report "United States/Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967," more commonly known as the “Pentagon Papers.” The Pentagon Papers are also available in full online, via the National Archives website: https://www.archives.gov/research/pentagon-papers/
Documents Hilsman's career as Director of the Bureau of Intelligence and Research (INR) and as Assistant Secretary of State for Far Eastern Affairs, with particular emphasis on Vietnam, Laos and the administration of the INR.
Documents Schwartz's tenure as administrator of the Bureau of Security and Consular Affairs, Department of State (1962-1965), and materials on immigration and refugees. Also contains a small amount on the rehabilitation of the wounded in Vietnam and on Vietnam in general.
Covers Yarmolinsky's roles as Special Assistant to the Secretary of Defense (1961-1964); Director of the President's antipoverty program (1964); and Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Affairs (1965-1966). See reference staff for full finding aid.
Papers 1939-1969. Historian, government official, Special Assistant to the President for Latin American Affairs (1961-63); author, A Thousand Days (1965). Correspondence, reports, speeches, subject files, news clippings, research materials, book drafts, writings, diaries, White House files.
Contains materials used for Armstrong’s dissertation, The True Believer: Walt Whitman Rostow and the Path to Vietnam, including papers from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library on the Vietnam War, as well as correspondence from the LBJ Library, the JFK Library, and the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) David Armstrong concerning requested documents from the libraries.
Covers Mankiewicz's tenure as the Peace Corps Representative in Peru (1962-1964), Peace Corps Regional Director for Latin America (1964-1966), Press Secretary to Robert F. Kennedy (1966-1968), and presidential campaign director for Senator George McGovern (1971-1972).
Includes childhood letters, diaries, correspondence, academic records, notebooks, financial papers, Navy records including medical files, medical records, manuscripts of Why England Slept and Profiles in Courage, some Boston office House of Representatives files, Presidential doodles, and scrapbooks. Digitized in full.
Personal and professional papers consisting of letters, memos, research notes and drafts, writings, publications, photographs, and ephemera. Topics include World War II, Harvard University, the John F. Kennedy Library, Cuban Missile Crisis, Vietnam War, civil rights, United States foreign policy, and atomic weapons development/control.
Consists of interviews and notes for the donors' book, The Kennedy Crisis: The Press, The Presidency and Foreign Policy, which studies the press coverage of policies toward Laos, Berlin, Cuba, and Vietnam.
Robert F. Kennedy Papers: 1968 Presidential Campaign Papers
Documents Robert F. Kennedy's 1968 Presidential campaign, including divisions for press, media, research, speech writers, and youth/students (most campaign speech transcripts are located in the RFK Senate Papers collection). Contact reference staff for the full finding aid.
Includes correspondence, desk diaries, speeches, trip files, and other material documenting Robert F. Kennedy's role as Attorney General (1961-1964). Digitized in part.
Robert F. Kennedy Papers: Senate Papers
Contains case files, correspondence, speeches, press releases, and other materials documenting Robert F. Kennedy's time as a Senator from New York (1964-1968), including 1968 Presidential campaign speeches. Contact reference staff for the full finding aid.
Contains material related to Sorensen's role on John F. Kennedy's Senate staff (1952-60) and as speechwriter and Special Counsel to the President (1961-64); includes correspondence, legislative files, subject files, speech files, draft book manuscripts, personal papers and White House files.
Papers 1959-1964 (#213). Journalist, government official. Press secretary to Senator John F. Kennedy (1959-1960); Press Secretary to the President (1961-1964). Includes Salinger's press briefings, interim reports, bound house and senate committee reports, and miscellaneous campaign information.