Here, we've highlighted archival collections and holdings at the JFK Library—starting with the most popular—that support research on women's history and rights during the Kennedy presidency.
Correspondence, minutes of meetings, reports, transcripts, and memorandums of the Commission and its seven subcommittees. Part of National Archives Record Group 235 (https://catalog.archives.gov/id/547). Digitized in part.
Serves as an index to the White House Central Subject File by personal or organizational name. It contains a copy of the first page of incoming and outgoing White House correspondence. This collection is open in part; contact the reference staff to request screening of specific folders.
The main correspondence file for the Kennedy administration; contains letters from the general public, as well as internal staff memoranda. Digitized in part.
Records of the Ace of Clubs, a women's club founded by Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy in 1910. Includes club records, correspondence, meeting minutes, President's books, and photograph albums.
Microfilm copies of press releases and records relating to the AFL-CIO union, legislation, relations with the Federal Government, and international affairs including John F. Kennedy’s related legislation and official correspondence.
Documents Marshall’s role as Assistant Attorney General for the Department of Justice Civil Rights Division under the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, as well as his post-administration career, and his relationship with the Kennedy family. Digitized in part.
Consists of Gatov's personal papers for the period 1948-1977, documenting her work as Treasurer of the United States, as an active member of the California and national Democratic Parties, and as a volunteer with the Planned Parenthood Federation of America.
Microfilm copies of personal correspondence with members of the White House staff, documenting her work as Assistant Secretary of Labor for Labor Standards (1961-1969) and and as the Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs.
Textual and audiovisual materials that document the First Lady's early life, family, and marriage; her role in the White House (trips, state visits, White House restoration, social events, personal occasions, family events, and more); and her interests and concerns following her White House years. Digitized in part.
Covers the period between the Presidential election (8 November 1960) and Inauguration (20 January 1961), and includes both congratulations and ground work material on the President-elect's policy.
Materials documenting Margaret Ronayne Hahn's experience as a campaign worker on the presidential campaigns of John F. Kennedy and Robert F. Kennedy. Digitized in full.
Documents Korman's role as Chair to the Woman's Advisory Committee for the campaigns of Senator Edward M. Kennedy, including correspondence, campaign files, speeches, campaign material and photographs.
Part of the Presidential Papers of John F. Kennedy, consisting of the working files of President Kennedy as maintained by his personal secretary, Evelyn Lincoln, in the Oval Office of the White House (1961-1963). Digitized in full.
Documents Shriver’s work as the first director of the Peace Corps, as the first director of the Office of Economic Opportunity, and as United States Ambassador to France.
Document Rose Kennedy's experiences from her youth until her death, with emphasis on her travels and education; corresponding with friends, family, and the public; work in the mental health field; involvement in politics and charitable causes; various writings; and the restoration of John F. Kennedy's birthplace.
White House Communications Agency recordings of President Kennedy's speeches and other public remarks. Recordings are downloadable from the website; digitized in full.
Still photographs by White House and National Park Service staff photographers documenting the President's activities, trips, and other events; informal photographs of the President and his family; photographs of Administration and Congressional members; photographs of White House staff and visitors; and photographs of White House rooms and grounds. Digitized in part.
Covering Wofford's roles as assistant to then-Senator John F. Kennedy and Special Assistant to the President for Civil Rights from 1961-1962, the collection holds correspondence, speeches, and occasional background material on civil rights cases. Digitized in full.
